The Intractable Autodidact

You are your own best teacher

Digger Bee Squatters’ Rights

You know the nozzle sprayers that go on the end of your garden hose? I have one unused in my yard, just sitting on a shelf between some plants. I just had the feeling something was using that nozzle, and not for watering. Then I spotted something fly into and out again of the hose end of it, the part with the threading. I peeked inside with a flashlight, and saw the little resident:

Something's living in my nozzle.

Not sure what species he is, but it’s got to be some sort of ground or digger bee. I watched as he built that little wall out of pieces of sand he collected.

Such a beautiful little guy (or girl)! I wouldn’t evict him. After taking my photos (using a flashlight to light up the tube) I thanked the bee for its patience and left the nozzle in place.

Here’s the same shot cropped to 100%:

Anyone with any input to ID this creature, please feel free to post a comment. Or just post because you feel like it.

Same shot cropped to 100%

Bye bee!

 

UPDATE (10-14-11): The kind folks at bugguide.net have identified this critter as Centris nitida, or the oil-collecting bee, a recent arrival from Mexico or Central America, established in South Florida, and sporadically in other areas in the U.S.

4 comments on “Digger Bee Squatters’ Rights

  1. Rifqi
    October 13, 2011

    Awesome, I wish I had a pet bee I could shoot :p

    • kentiki
      October 13, 2011

      Thanks! Hey pet bee, I hadn’t thought of it like that.

  2. KatiesCameraBlog
    October 13, 2011

    I love this post, as your story is wonderful, and your neighbor bee isn’t being evicted! I love the last photo, as the bee is just staring at you, like “Hello there, neighbor.” :) Terrific photos and a fantastic post! :)

    • kentiki
      October 13, 2011

      Thank you!! I have to see if it’s still there today. Maybe he’s got satellite tv, internet, etc., all hooked up.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 13, 2011 by in apis, arthropods, Discovery, imaging, natural history, nature, photography.

Take a look at my collection of photos on Flickr

Marasmius sp?

Cosmetid harvestman—under UV

Pokeweed (Phytolacca americana)

More Photos
Nature Blog Network
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers