The Intractable Autodidact

You are your own best teacher

My Further Photographic & Anthropological Adventures in the Field

I usually prefer finding photo opps rather than setting them up. It just seems more interesting to me to find the unexpected. I visited a nature preserve last Saturday, hoping mostly to find tiger beetles and maybe some butterflies and rare plants. I won’t mention the specific location, for reasons that will become clear soon, but it’s a nowadays rare pinelands area in South Florida.

I was completely alone, listening to the rustling pines, walking the slow, methodical walk of a photographer hunting prey. Besides a few butterflies and spiders, I didn’t see much in the way of new or different creatures. Then just as I was exiting, I spotted what looked like a shredded white plastic shopping bag. I don’t exactly know what attracted me to it, but I wandered over and poked around. Suddenly I spotted what appeared to be a small conch shell. Thinking it might be a cast or fossil I turned it over to see this:

Conch Shell Icon

It was indeed a small conch shell, but the open part of it was filled with concrete, and extended to make a base. Embedded into the concrete were cowrie shells to form a face, as well as a red feather at the top.

I recognized it as something related to Santeria, a religion practiced around the Caribbean area with clear roots to Africa. Santeria, as well as Voodoo, in my opinion get a bad rap, probably from too many Hollywood interpretations. They are religions, after all, like dozens of others in the world.

Next to the conch shell figure there was a toppled iron cauldron, about six inches across. It was filled with iron objects, like a horseshoe, railroad spike, and various nails. I do recall reading that iron is especially significant in certain aspects of Santeria.

Iron Cauldron

I looked briefly into the possible meanings of what I found, but rather than try and interpret a subject I’m not really familiar with, I’ll leave that for you to do.

I think it’s amazing to live in a place where this can even happen. Where else in the U.S. would I just stumble on something outside the mainstream like this? Well, in an effort to be as respectful as possible, I left these items precisely as I found them. Diversity in the natural world is unendingly fascinating; it seems increasingly harder to find in human culture in the 21st century.

3 comments on “My Further Photographic & Anthropological Adventures in the Field

  1. Barbara Backer-Gray
    October 7, 2012

    Awesome! You live in a wonderful place. I’ve been to Florida twice, but did not photographing or exploring. I really want to go to the Keys, and now I know to look very closely.

    • kentiki
      October 7, 2012

      Thank you! Come back and I can take you to some of these weird places. You have to search, but they are still here.

      • Barbara Backer-Gray
        October 7, 2012

        I will.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 30, 2011 by in anthropology, art, caribbean, Discovery, exploration, imaging, photography, santeria, tropical and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Take a look at my collection of photos on Flickr

Photosynthesis

Cypress gall

Key West

More Photos
Nature Blog Network
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 262 other followers