The Intractable Autodidact

You are your own best teacher

Further Fungi Following me Home, et al.

Ok, what the hell is this? I love mushrooms. I still think they may have an extraterrestrial origin. But these recent visitors to my front yard are just so weird. They appeared under my live oak tree (Quercus virginiana), where death cap mushrooms used to grow, and lasted for over a week.

Cocoa-covered Fungus

I initially thought they were a conglomeration of dog poop, since from above they are shaped and colored like that — thus my neologism “copromorphic,” i.e. “dung shaped.” But I got closer than I would to poop, and what’s REALLY weird is the pairing of a classic “mushroom-shaped” mushroom on the left with the odd fellow on the right! (There were a few of these pairings). I thought maybe it would mature, and perhaps grow into a more mushroomy form, but that didn’t happen. And there were no gills or spores; the powdery cocoa-colored powder on top separates easily, so I think this fungus must spread its spores like a puffball mushroom.

Ok? Ok, but now why this!?:

Dogbone

The dog poop has morphed into a dog bone. Yes! The mushrooms in question, after about a week, had matured into this bone-joint shape. At this stage, they were almost woody to the touch, though have since nearly completely disappeared.

Oh I also found this guy in my yard:

Guard-en Gnome

Any input on the fungi is appreciated.

11 comments on “Further Fungi Following me Home, et al.

  1. intergenerational
    June 1, 2012

    Oh, you have a nice gnome watching at your yard!

    • kentiki
      June 1, 2012

      Thanks! I love that little guy. I feel he guards us.

      • intergenerational
        June 2, 2012

        In our county we say each house needs a gnome for protection-oh my,I’ve just noticed I do not have it-have to change it asap!!!!!

      • kentiki
        June 2, 2012

        I agree, I love gnomes. Part of my European background too I believe.

      • intergenerational
        June 3, 2012

        Guess yes ;)

  2. sonjarosas
    June 1, 2012

    Hahaha, I love it when I find weird things in my yard like gnomes or little frog statues…

    WEIRDO mushrooms, though. Maybe they’ve got like, a disease or something!

    • kentiki
      June 2, 2012

      I hope I don’t find one growing out between my toes.

  3. Fork in My Eye
    June 3, 2012

    I love “copromorphic.” Love your strange fungus too, though have no idea what they may be. I hope you post it when (not “if” – see what confidence I have in you?) you find out.

    • kentiki
      June 3, 2012

      Thank you! I will ID it, when (not if) the aliens whose baby it is come forward:)

      I have a dog, so there are lots of copromorphs on my lawn sometimes.

  4. sporesmouldsandfungi
    June 5, 2012

    a non-puffing Puffball with a prominent pseudostipe – somewhere around Scleroderma (S.floridiana? – fits written description at http://www.mushroomexpert.com/scleroderma.html but no photo). Or Pisolithus see
    http://www.mykoweb.com/CAF/species/Pisolithus_arhizus.html
    In these non-puffers the outer skin/ peridium flakes away to reveal the dry powdery spore mass (your first photo) which blows away (your second photo) so that all that is left is the pseudostipe.

    • kentiki
      June 7, 2012

      This is fantastic! Thank you for the info. (Can’t believe WordPress marked your comment as spam).

Leave a Reply

Take a look at my collection of photos on Flickr

I just love that toothy grin!

American Crocodile

Wonder what this mass is?

More Photos
Nature Blog Network
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 231 other followers

