The Intractable Autodidact

You are your own best teacher

One of my Favorite Creepy Words — and Why

As a young linguist (I love saying that, though it sounds way pompous), I most loved the little tidbits of linguistic lore some of my favorite professors would bestow on us, like pearls of wisdom. It seemed that way at the time anyway. One I fondly recall was told to the class by Professor Hall, an old guy with a white beard, tattoos, and a cane carved with a dragon head. He dug historical linguistics, as do I, and said the word bishopric (the diocese under a bishop) was the only word in modern English that still used the suffix -ric. It means, more or less, kingdom, and is cognate with German reich, (kingdom) but without reich‘s unfortunate connotations. You can certainly see the relation — both are realms within a specific cordon, and they sound similar.

An Eldritch Woods

Ah but I stumbled on ONE MORE example of -ric in current usage, albeit rare. I regret I don’t recall where I first read it, but eldritch was a word I had to memorize. It means eerie, spooky, or uncanny. The -ritch of eldritch means kingdom, and is derived from Old English rīce, i.e. kingdom. It’s the same as the -ric in bishopric. The el of eldritch expresses odd or strange, thus, historically, eldritch means something like strange place/realm, but its current meaning is just plain spooky.

Note: Some etymologies claim the word’s origin is more like elf-rīce meaning something like realm of the elf. Undoubtedly, that’s an even cooler derivation.

6 comments on “One of my Favorite Creepy Words — and Why

  1. Fork in My Eye
    August 22, 2012

    It’s been a while since I read your bio so I completely forgot that you studied linguistics. How cool! My dad and I enjoy swapping linguistic oddities or fun etymologies. Eldritch is a delightfully spooky word, even more so now that I know a bit of its history.

    • kentiki
      August 22, 2012

      Thank you! Keep swapping stories with your dad. I have a little girl, and we dads love hearing from you, especially when we think we are teaching you something;)

  2. Monique
    August 22, 2012

    I’m so happy to have a buddy who is a linguist! LOL. You are too cool, Ken!

    • kentiki
      August 22, 2012

      Thank you, Mo! That is nice to hear. I am going to remind my family that I am cool!!! HAAHAA

  3. Barbara Backer-Gray
    October 7, 2012

    I like your blog. And thanks for following mine. I first saw the word eldritch in a book by Dean Koontz. He uses it every now and then. I don’t know if you know him; he’s a thriller/horror writer, but very good. He’s second to Steven King of that genre that I’ve read so far. Anyway, one of the many things I like about his writing is his use of lesser known words (lesser known by me anyway), so I always learn something.

    • kentiki
      October 7, 2012

      I agree, to me, reading isn’t just entertainment, but I personally like to learn something.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 21, 2012 by in gnome, language, linguistics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Take a look at my collection of photos on Flickr

Lilioceris cheni, air potato leaf beetle

Tokay gecko, shedding

Flame lily, tendril

More Photos
Nature Blog Network
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

