The Intractable Autodidact

You are your own best teacher

In the Heart of the Sea

Today is the anniversary of a remarkable event in nautical history. The whaleship Essex, stove and sunk by a whale: the victim/leviathan fought back. The ultimate text on this tale was written by Nathaniel Philbrick, entitled “In the Heart of the Sea: the Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex.

One of my absolute favorite books, it has it all: exploration, whales, castaways, survival, cannibalism. It supposedly inspired Melville, and you know I love me some Melville.

Read the Philbrick book. You won’t be sorry!

2 comments on “In the Heart of the Sea

  1. Barbara Backer-Gray
    November 20, 2012

    I will, then. I see it often at the half price bookstore, when I’m looking for raft books (which I collect), but I suppose I could make a detour onto a life boat.

  2. kentiki
    November 20, 2012

    Raft books! That’s a fascinating category I had never thought of. You’ll like “In the Heart of the Sea;” it was a great read. Fact is truly stranger than fiction.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 20, 2012 by in literature, natural history, nature, Ocean, odontocetes, sperm whale, whales and tagged , , , , , , .

Take a look at my collection of photos on Flickr





Blue slime mold?

More Photos
Nature Blog Network
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers